More Grownup Reading

http://feedproxy.google.com/~r/AbbytheLibrarian/~3/NvG7-eEv7nI/more-grownup-reading.html

I've posted a few roundups over the past couple of years featuring great adult books that I've been reading. Lately, maybe because of my obsession with Litsy, Book Riot, and The Book of the Month Club, I've been reading more adult books than ever. We've also pressed pause on our giant booktalking program since we've restructured our staff, which takes some of the pressure off reading so many children's books (although of course I still love to read children's and teen books).

And I've been finding and reading some really great books lately, so I definitely wanted to share the love and tell you about what I've been loving lately. Here are 11 more great books for your TBR shelves!



Bird Box by Josh Malerman (Ecco, 2014).

SO SCARY. I'm the first to admit that I'm a scary story wimp, but this psychological horror novel was terrifying in a way that had me turning the pages to see what would happen next. Something is out there, something so terrifying that one glimpse can drive a person mad. The survivors board themselves in and blindfold themselves when they step outside. Now Malorie and her two young kids must attempt escape. So Malorie blindfolds herself and her children and they set off down the river. But how can you escape what you cannot see?



The Bookshop on the Corner by Jenny Colgan (William Morrow Paperbacks, 2016).

This book was just yummy in every way. It's a light, breezy love story that's perfect for book lovers. After being laid off from her librarian job, Nina decides to follow her dream of opening a bookshop, but intimidated by hiring and managing a staff and a lease, she elects to convert a large van into a mobile bookshop in the Scottish Highlands. This is a love story to books, but it's also a literal love story as a train engineer vies for her attention and her new landlord is mysteriously attractive under his gruff facade. The Scottish village setting was another huge draw for me: I could practically see the scenery Colgan was painting as I read.



Born a Crime by Trevor Noah (Spiegel and Grau, 2016; Audible Studios).

I picked up this audiobook when it was offered for free by Audible. I am actually not a huge watcher of The Daily Show, but Noah's memoir of growing up in Apartheid and post-Apartheid South Africa was fascinating. He was born during Apartheid to a black mother and a white father, so his very existence was, in fact, a crime. Noah speaks about race and conflict and poverty and family in a place that I knew very little about. His memoir is not only entertaining, especially the audiobook which he narrates himself, but eye-opening. You know how I feel about celebrity memoirs, and this is one that's definitely worth a read.



Difficult Women by Roxane Gay (Grove Press, 2017).

The title of this short story collection says it all. These stories about women are sometimes difficult to read, dealing with women who are in difficult situations or have to make impossible choices or who are trying to survive tragedies. They are hauntingly beautiful and ugly stories to be savored. This wasn't a book I could read in a weekend, but a book that I picked up and read and then put down to process.



Evicted: Poverty and Profit in the American City by Matthew Desmond (Crown, 2016).

This book made me think and it has not stopped making me think since I read it months ago. It was very, very difficult for me to check my privilege when I started reading this book, but I think I managed it by the end. I get so frustrated by lost books at the library - books that are checked out and then never returned - but reading this book helped me understand a little better some of the reasons that it might happen. All public librarians should read this book, particularly anyone serving an area with any housing instability.



The Fifth Season by N.K. Jemisin (Orbit, 2015; Hachette Audio).

Looking for a fantasy series you can really sink your teeth into? (Actually.... I am pretty convinced that this is science fiction, technically, but it reads like high fantasy, so I think it could please readers of either.) I am not a huge reader of adult science fiction or fantasy, but I had been hearing so much buzz about this one that I grabbed the audiobook when I saw it on sale. The book drew me in with its multiple storylines and when I started to figure out how they all fit together, I was finding any excuse to listen to my audiobook to see how it would all play out.



Here Comes the Sun by Nicole Dennis-Benn (Liveright, 2016; Highbridge Audio).

Set in sunny Jamaica, this is the story of a family trying to piece together a life as a drought pounds on and poverty seems to build walls around them. Margot works at a gorgeous resort where rich tourists come to spend time in the sand and surf. Margot has accepted her position and the things she must do in order to make a better life for her younger sister Thandi. Thandi is smart. Thandi is their ticket out. If Margot can pull together the resources to put Thandi through school, she will make it out of poverty and bring the entire family with her. But is that what Thandi really wants? Narrated by Bahni Turpin, the audiobook was the way to go for this one, as a bunch of the dialog is written in patois and the audiobook helped me understand it more easily.



Juliet Takes a Breath by Gabby Rivera (Riverdale Avenue Books, 2016).

I had been hearing and hearing about this one and I'm so glad because I don't think I would have picked it up on my own and then I would have lost out on this hopeful story of a girl crossing the country to find herself. I loved the protagonist of this story so much that I found it hard to put the book down, despite the fact that it could have used some more careful editing. Juliet, a gay, newly feminist, college student from the Bronx, takes a summer internship in Portland, Oregon with her idol, author Harlowe Brisbane and her life begins to change. Juliet isn't sure what she wants out of this internship except to spend more time with her favorite author, but she ends up learning a ton about feminism, gender identity, race, and more. If you want a book with a character that you can just really root for and believe in, or if you're looking to educate yourself about gender, feminism, etc., don't miss this one.



A Man Called Ove by Fredrik Backman (Atria Books, 2014; Dreamscape Media).

This is a touching story that's stuck with me for a long time. When we first meet Ove, we know he's a recently retired man who feels like he's outlived his usefulness and is determined to off himself, only things keep getting in his way. Backman reveals the whole story gradually and along the way the reader falls in love with Ove. This is just my kind of story - completely character centered with tone that's a mix of humorous and serious. The audio recording is very pleasant to listen to and it's an audiobook that kept me getting my daily walks in because I needed to visit with Ove and find out what happened to him next.



The Mothers by Brit Bennett (Riverhead Books, 2016).

Here is another character-centered gem. When Nadia is a teenager, she falls in love with an older boy named Luke and she befriends Aubrey, a girl new to their community. All three of them are connected by their common church, the Upper Room, but their lives will become more and more entangled as they get older and secrets complicate their lives. The relationships between the characters is what really had me hooked, particularly the relationship between best friends Nadia and Aubrey.



The Wonder by Emma Donoghue (Little, Brown and Co, 2016).

Mounting tension keeps the pages turning in this historical novel set in Ireland in the 1850s. An English nurse is tasked with investigating a supposed miracle - an Irish child who claims not to have eaten in months, surviving off the manna of heaven. This one starts a little slow, but by the halfway mark I absolutely couldn't put it down and I finished it in one night.

Our First African American Read-In

http://feedproxy.google.com/~r/AbbytheLibrarian/~3/hYCCFmdNZqM/our-first-african-american-read-in.html

I got to read from one of my favorite books at our library's first African American Read-In last week.

I read from Brown Girl Dreaming at our African American Read-In
If you've not tried an African American Read-In at your library, you should think about it! It was a program that was easy to put together, easy to run on the day, and one we got great feedback about. We will definitely do it again next year.

I am a librarian because I LOVE books. I know that libraries offer a lot more than books, but events centered around books and literature are my favorite kind of events to do at the library. The African American Read-In is completely centered on coming together to share books, so it is right up my alley.

Lots of libraries and schools have participated in the AARI, so there are lots of ideas out there. And it's super flexible, so you can do what works for you. Basically, as long as your event features reading African American literature and is held during the month of February, it can be considered part of the National AARI. So get to Googling and you can see lots of different possibilities.

We put the word out, invited a couple of guest readers to kick off the event, partnered with the theater department at one of our local schools to drum up some high school readers, and handled the rest of the readers open-mic style with a signup sheet.

We held the event at the Carnegie Center for Art and History, which is a department of our library and located right down the street. They happened to have an amazing art exhibit going on: #BlackArtMatters, which provided the perfect backdrop for our readers. We brought books and a laptop check out station from the library so that attendees could check out the books that were read or sign up for a library card if they needed one.

Our event was successful in many ways. I was hoping to have 50 people and we ended up with 65, which is great for us, especially for a new event. We got lots of great feedback from attendees, including many who asked if we'd be doing it again next year (yes!).

I had hoped to have lots of books checked out from our mobile library station, but only two books were checked out, both by a staff member who was attending. So that's a goal for next year: promote checkouts of library material.

I'd also like to explore getting children more involved and possibly hosting some after-school read-ins like Angie Manfredi posted about. There are definitely possibilities to expand the program next year.

Have you done an African American Read-In? I'd love to hear about what you've done!

Flying Lessons and Other Stories

http://feedproxy.google.com/~r/AbbytheLibrarian/~3/nDa41LZhhkY/flying-lessons-and-other-stories.html

Flying Lessons and Other Stories, edited by Ellen Oh. Grades 4-8. Crown Books for Young Readers, January 2017. 216 pages. Review copy purchased because I couldn't wait for my library to get it in!

Booktalk:

Sometimes a book of short stories is just the thing.

Sometimes you're really busy, or you have a lot on your mind and your attention span isn't that long. Sometimes it's hard to stick with an entire novel or you keep starting books and putting them down and never finishing them. And in that case, a book of short stories might be just the thing.

Flying Lessons and Other Stories is a collection of diverse stories from a lot of superstar authors. This book begins and ends with stories about basketball, but that's not all you'll find in this book. There are also stories about being captured by pirates, about having a crush on the new kid in school, about Big Foot terrorizing a family of campers, and more.

So if you're ever in the mood to read just something short and quick, or if you're very busy and need something you can pick up and put down a lot without losing your place, try this book of short stories Flying Lessons and Other Stories.

My thoughts:

You need this book!

Whether it's for your library shelves, your classroom, or your home collection, this first anthology from the We Need Diverse Books crew is an essential addition. Here lie stories from a collection of amazing authors including Kwame Alexander, Walter Dean Myers, Grace Lin, and more.

But my very favorite story in this book was the short-story-contest-winning The Beans and Rice Chronicles of Isaiah Dunn by Kelly J. Baptist. She painted a portrait of experiencing homelessness that was so poignant I can't stop thinking about it. I really hope to read more from her very soon (the bios in the back of the book mention a YA novel-in-progress, so I'm waiting here..!).

On a side note, I've been in kind of a reading slump since the 24in48 Readathon and I haven't been finishing very many books. This was the first book I'd finished in A WHILE, and I think it's because of the short story format. That's why my booktalk spoke to that, and I think short stories have much to offer busy kids struggling to find the time to fit in reading, too.

Readalikes:

Many of the authors in this collection have other middle-grade titles to explore after reading this collection:

The Crossover by Kwame Alexander (a personal favorite of mine ;)
The School for Good and Evil by Soman Chainani
Better Nate Than Ever by Tim Federle
Where the Mountain Meets the Moon by Grace Lin
How I Became a Ghost by Tim Tingle
Brown Girl Dreaming by Jacqueline Woodson (another personal favorite ;)

(Some of the authors have YA novels that may be appropriate for some readers.)

Readers who are looking for more short story collections might enjoy books from the Guys Read library or The Most Important Thing: Stories About Sons, Fathers, and Grandfathers. (I couldn't find a lot of short story collections for middle-graders and most seem to be specifically aimed at boys - any suggestions??)



The Sun is Also a Star

http://feedproxy.google.com/~r/AbbytheLibrarian/~3/GzMsLj-Jhhs/the-sun-is-also-star.html

The Sun is Also a Star by Nicola Yoon. Grades 7+ Delacorte Press, November 2016. 348 pages. Review copy provided by my local library.

Book Talk: 

Do you believe in love at first sight?

No? You're like Natasha. She doesn't believe in love, she believes in science. Love is just chemical reactions in your brain, nothing to lose your head over. And she's got more important things to worry about right now. Until she meets Daniel.

Do you believe in love at first sight?

Yes? You're like Daniel. The poet headed to an interview for Yale. Because his parents demand that he attend "second-best school" Yale if he's not going to follow his brother to "best school" Harvard. But Daniel doesn't care about Yale or Harvard or maybe any college at all. He wants to grab the words in his head and put them down on paper and figure out how to do that. And from the moment he sees Natasha, he knows he feels something. He just has to convince her.

But they only have one day.

Natasha is an undocumented immigrant and her family is being deported back to Jamaica. Tonight.

They are two kids with nothing in common, total opposites in some ways, who meet by happenstance and figure out that they just might believe in love at first sight.

This is an un-put-downable romance story that takes place in a single day, over the course of 12 hours. If you believe in love or if you're ready to be convinced, this is the book for you.

My thoughts:

Yeah, everyone told me this one was great, and that's why I saved it for the 24 in 48 Readathon and I definitely agree. Told in super short chapters that alternate perspectives (mostly between Natasha and Daniel, but occasionally another character jumps in there), the pages in this novel flew by.

It's a sweet love story that has a lot to offer fans of romance books, but there's also a lot being said here about immigrant families and their children. Daniel's parents immigrated to the United States from South Korea and he and his brother were both born in the US. Natasha's family came to New York when she was eight and the city has been her home since then. Now that she's facing the final stretch, her senior year and college applications, she's crushed to learn that they may have to leave.

Both kids have different pressures placed on them by their families. Daniel's parents want him to have a good future - their idea of a good future only. Natasha's parents count on her a lot to help take care of things. At this point, they've both given up on their dreams of America, so it's up to Natasha to try a hail Mary pass and see if there's any loophole that might keep them there.

Along the way, readers get a glimpse into the lives of a few of the supporting characters: a security guard at the immigration building, the paralegal in the lawyer's office, members of Daniel's and Natasha's families. These little glimpses help to flesh out the story completely and also emphasize the way that little ripples can have a big effect on people's lives.

Readalikes:

For readers who enjoy the whirlwind romance I'd suggest Nick & Norah's Infinite Playlist by David Levithan and Rachel Cohn or Let It Snow: Three Holiday Romances by John Green, Maureen Johnson, and Lauren Myracle.

For readers who enjoy a romance between two teens who are very different, I'd suggest Like No Other by Una Lamarche or Perfect Chemistry by Simone Elkeles.

For more stories from an immigrant's point of view, I'd suggest Something in Between by Melissa de la Cruz, American Street by Ibi Zoboi or the memoir In the Country We Love by Diane Guerrero.

Valentines for Walking Books: A Volunteer Success Story

http://feedproxy.google.com/~r/AbbytheLibrarian/~3/q0HL6Qka48M/valentines-for-walking-books-volunteer.html

A couple of weeks ago, we were approached by the fourth grade teachers at one of our local schools wanting to know if they could bring their classes in for a day of volunteering at the library. Never one to turn away a partnership with a school, we quickly agreed and worked out a plan for the day. The kids would come to the library, eat their lunches in one of our meeting rooms, get a tour of the library, and then spend some time volunteering.

Our typical volunteers are middle schoolers who need volunteer hours for school, for scouts, for confirmation, etc., and we limit them to two-hour shifts. They help us prep craft materials for our craft table, pull books to consider for weeding, etc.

But what could 16 kids do to volunteer that would be helpful and not add a ton of work for my staff to prep activities for them to do?



We had a brainstorm and asked the kids to spend some time making Valentines (or Happy Day or Enjoy Your Books) cards for the patrons in our Walking Books program. Walking Books delivers books to patrons who are in nursing homes or who are homebound and can't make it to the library themselves. Each month, a selection of books is delivered to the patrons who participate.

We spoke with our librarian who is in charge of Walking Books and she thought it was a great idea. She provided us with a list of names so the kids could personalize their cards.

We provided the materials: construction paper, crayons, markers, colored pencils, crazy scissors that cut different patterns (recently donated by a retired teacher!)

And the kids went to town. The messages they wrote were so sweet and the cards were colorful and fun. Lots of kids took special care, making elements that popped out or utilizing the pattern scissors to make their cards look really neat.

This not only gave us an easy project for a dozen or so kids to tackle at once, but it allows our volunteers to connect with their community and to learn about a service that the library offers. And it allows us (the library) to provide something a little special and different for our patrons, hopefully something that will brighten their day.

This is definitely a project that we will repeat in the future, and it's nice that it's one that we can pull out of our back pocket if we have a sudden surge in volunteers. As the deadline for the middle school's service learning project looms, we will often have more volunteers contact us than we have tasks for. Problem solved!

You could do a similar project even if your library doesn't have a Walking Books program. Have kids decorate cards that invite people to get a library card or say why libraries or books are important. Pair the cards with information about the library or library card applications and take them to your next outreach event!